Dream Circles

If you’re visiting this page, you’ve probably wondered what your dreams mean. Perhaps you’ve done a lot of inner work in psychotherapy or through a spiritual practice but never explored your dreams, or at least not in depth. Dream circles are a great way to dip your toe into the transformational practice of dream work. Note: The Night Is Jung dream circles are for female-identified people.

 

What happens at a dream circle?


Dream circles are sacred space. Each member agrees to keep what is said in the circle confidential. At the beginning of every circle, Melissa pulls an oracle card and offers a mini reading for each member. This helps participants to open the door to their own intuition and to think in terms of metaphors and images.

After the cards have been pulled, Melissa asks for a volunteer to share a dream. She will restate the dream after it has been shared, offer her initial insights and ideas, and then guide participants in asking questions about the dream. At dream circles, we don’t use dream dictionaries to figure out what a dream means. Rather, we ask questions regarding how the dreamer feels about the dream and what their memories or associations are surrounding the most compelling images; we look at how the dream may be commenting on or related to a real-time situation in the dreamer’s life; and we may also look at mythological or universal imagery in the dream.

Dream circles honor the wisdom of the participants. Everyone gets a chance to ask questions and share their ideas. No one is left out or allowed to dominate.

circle cloud i stock.jpg

What can you expect to experience at a dream circle?


The short answer: insight, vulnerability, community, and even awe.

 

The primary purpose of dream work is to explore the unconscious. So by its very nature, dream work takes us into the unknown. This can be a vulnerable experience as we may be introduced to thoughts and feelings we didn’t know we had. (Though how vulnerable you are with others is dependent on how much you want to share about what a dream is bringing up for you.) Dream work brings us important insights about our relationships and ourselves. Doing dream work with others is a bonding experience that helps us to create community and feel connected with like-minded travelers and seekers. And it also offers a way to connect to our spirituality and to unseen realms, evoking a sense of awe and wonder.

What is expected of you, the participant?

First and foremost, you are expected to uphold a pledge of confidentiality. Apart from that, it is helpful to simply be open—to your intuition, to new ideas and insights, and even to the way someone else’s dream impacts you.

Dream circle participants never tell each other what their dreams mean. We never say: That image means x, y, or z. We practice curiosity and ask questions out of a genuine desire to understand another’s experience. So if you  come to circle with openness, curiosity, and respect for your fellow dreamers, you’ll be paving the way for a positive experience.

 

How do I know if a dream circle would work for me?

 

It’s best if you have accomplished some foundational inner work before coming to a Night Is Jung dream circle. For instance, 3–5 years of psychotherapy and/or participation in a meaningful discipline of psycho-spiritual growth.

Note that while dream circles are not group therapy, we can go deep. If a dream points to relationship patterns or childhood conditioning, then those topics may be discussed.  But we don't work out relationship patterns through interpersonal group dynamics.

How long are dream circles?

 

Each circle is two hours.

How much do dream circles cost?

 

The fee is $21.25. Your first circle is free. There is a regular free dream circle on the second Wednesday of the month. Note that, at paid and free dream circles, everyone is guaranteed a reading, but not everyone will get a chance to work a dream. If you do not get to work on a dream, your dream will have priority at the next attended circle. To sign up for the free Wednesday circle, click the button below.

What is the dream circle schedule?

Beginners to Advanced: Wednesdays, 7 p.m. PST/8 p.m. MST/9 p.m. CST/10 p.m. EST

Advanced: Second and fourth Sundays, 11 a.m. PST/2 p.m. EST/ 7 p.m. London

Circle for Therapists and Pro Dream Workers: First and third Saturdays, 11 a.m. PST/2 p.m. EST/ 7 p.m. London

FREE Monthly Dream Circle: Second Wednesdays, 7 p.m. PST/8 p.m. MST/9 p.m. CST/10 p.m. EST

To join a dream circle, write Melissa at thenightisjung@gmail.com  or click on the link below to try out the free second Wednesday circle.